Post View....

Somalia: All five regional governments cut ties with the Somalia Ministry of Finance


Somalia’s regional governments such as Galmudug, HirShabelle, South West, Jubbaland and Puntland have jointly announced that they have cut ties with the Ministry of Finance of the Federal Government of Somalia.

In a remote meeting held by the five regional government finance ministers, they said that there will be no cooperation while the federal government’s finance ministry returns to the fence of the law and the implementation of the agreements they entered into.

The regional administrations said that the Ministry of Finance has broken the previous agreements which were:

  1. The Addis Ababa agreement in 2019
  2. The Kismayo agreement of September 2019
  3. The Kampala agreement of December 2019
  4. The Nairobi Agreement of January 2020
  5. The Mogadishu agreement of August 2020.

The action taken by the regional authorities represents the first challenge facing the new government led by Hassan Sheikh and Hamza Abdi Barre.

Read below the letter signed jointly by the five regional administrations.

About Author